Desktop Client for EyeWire

EyeWire is a great tool for science. However, using web browsers as the platform was a horrible idea.

Would you guys ever consider porting the EyeWire over to the desktop?
Performance would skyrocket, and that is really the best reason to do it.

As a developer, I understand how long it would take and how much it would cost.
Please let us know if this on the menu.

1 Like

Hey OneSmo, 

We actually do have a “version of EyeWire” for desktops that we use in the lab called “Omni”. You’re right, it is a lot snappier, but it also relies on a different software architecture and on our internal LAN to transfer huge amounts of data. It also comes without many of the features you associate with EyeWire (e.g. points, cubes, chat, etc).

I don’t think we’ve seriously considered giving Omni to the masses since it’s not as fun, and we haven’t streamlined the process for integrating the data with the EyeWire dataset. There is active development on it, but I think it’s pretty far away from a public deployment.

We are however considering ways to improve the speed of EyeWire itself and in the deepest secretest basements of the lab, we’re thinking of new game mechanics and ways to play. :slight_smile:

I hope that answers your question!

Will
EyeWire Developer

I would also want a dedicated program for this. Even if it’s basically just a port from the webpage. I would think it’d solve a lot of problems people are having with compatibility, whether it has to do with their browser or extensions. 

Plus, you could probably integrate an option for grid computing, for those who are even more interested in contributing. 

I just recently found about Eyewire and I must say the project is very intriguing and well thought!