Can I be a mod?

So, I spoke with rprentkl about becoming a mod on this project - just being a few more hands to do whatever you guys need. My motivation is FOR SCIENCE! This project is truly amazing and I would love do dedicate some of my time to help map and guide new mappers.

I won’t go into much detail, but please let me know if you want any. I simply just want to help, because I have great interest in science, sharing science and especially neuroscience.

Hard details:

I am a 25 year old male medical student from Copenhagen University. My favorite field in human biology is neurophysiology, but I haven’t experienced every tiny part of medicine yet, so I won’t say my opinion will not change.

I have a lot of experience with online communities, big as small - I even developed communities once.
I master English, but of course my grammar and vocabulary is limited to mostly ‘science talk’, obviously because of my field. Otherwise I speak Danish.

Dysp

Thanks dysp!

I’ll share a few details here with other people who would like to volunteer, and I’ll PM you so we can discuss how you can help specifically.

There are 3 main areas where you can get involved with Eyewire.

1) Forum Moderation
Mostly involves helping answer questions from new users, organizing posts and moving them to appropriate categories or taging them appropriately.  Encouraging interesting discussions.  Might eventually involve disciplining/banning users, but you have been such an awesome community so far that hasn’t been necessary!

2) Wiki Creation/Cleanup/Moderation
We’d like to start making a big push on content creation and organization on the wiki.  Anybody with wikipedia experience would be immensely helpful.  Organizing people to contribute articles and cleaning up/making the ones we have more accessible would be helpful too.  On top of that, we would like to translate the content into as many languages as possible so we can broaden our reach.

3) Outreach